SIX Man Utd players selected for the Europa League squad of the season

Edinson Cavani, Bruno Fernandes and Harry Maguire among SIX Manchester United players selected in Europa League squad of the season despite shootout heartache in the final… while winger Nicolas Pepe is Arsenal’s sole representative

  • Stars including Harry Maguire and Paul Pogba were also included in the squad
  • Nicolas Pepe scored six goals during Arsenal’s run to the semi-finals
  • Gerard Moreno and Pau Torres were among six Villarreal players selected

Six Manchester United players have been named in the Europa League squad of the season by UEFA. 

The Red Devils lost the final to Villarreal on penalties on Wednesday night; as their run without silverware extended to a fourth season. 

However, United players’ efforts have been rewarded by UEFA despite falling short of capturing the trophy. 

Manchester United were beaten by Villarreal in the Europa League final on Wednesday

Edinson Cavani (left) and Bruno Fernandes (right) were both in the squad of the tournament

After dropping out of the Champions League the Old Trafford club saw off the likes of Real Sociedad, AC Milan and Roma to reach the final in Gdansk. 

Bruno Fernandes, who scored an impressive nine goals during United’s run to the final was among the six selected. 

Defensive duo Harry Maguire and Aaron Wan-Bissaka were also named as were midfielders Scott McTominay and Paul Pogba. 

Uruguayan striker Edinson Cavani completed the set of United players selected.

Arsenal’s Nicolas Pepe (right) scored six goals during the Gunners run to the semi finals 

Arsenal’s Ivorian international Nicolas Pepe was also named as part of the squad.  

The north London club reached the semi finals but lost out to Villarreal; Pepe notched six goals for the Gunners including one in the defeat to the Spaniards. 

The LaLiga side who are managed by former Arsenal boss Unai Emery claimed their first European title on Wednesday and a host of their stars were included in the squad of the tournament.  

Gerard Moreno, Raul Albiol and Pau Torres were among those named for the Europa League winners.


Goalkeepers: Dominik Livaković, (Dinamo Zagreb) Pau López. (Roma) Gerónimo Rulli (Villarreal) 

Defenders: Raúl Albiol, (Villarreal) Harry Maguire, (Manchester United) Aaron Wan-Bissaka, (Manchester United) Gianluca Mancini, (Roma) Leonardo Spinzzola, (Roma) Alfonso Pedraza, (Villarreal) Pau Torres (Villarreal)

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes, (Manchester United) Daniel Parejo, (Villarreal) Lorenzo Pellegrini, (Roma) Paul Pogba, (Manchester United) Étienne Capoue, (Villarreal) Mislav Oršić, (Dinamo Zagreb) Lukáš Provod, (Slavia Praha) Scott McTominay (Manchester United)

Forwards: Gerard Moreno, (Villarreal) Edinson Cavani, (Manchester United) Dušan Tadiċ, (Ajax) Edin Džeko, (Roma) Nicolas Pépé (Arsenal)

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article