England fans were not impressed by the decision to award a penalty against Luke Shaw when the defender clearly got the ball.
Shaw went in with a high boot against Loic Nego, though the Manchester United man got there first and clearly got the ball.
The referee deemed it to be dangerous play, though, and awarded the visitors a spot-kick which Roland Sallai duly despatched.
Three Lions fans were not happy though, with one writing on social media: "Is that even a penalty? Shaw had every right to go for that ball and the player has decided to chuck his head in…?"
Another fumed: "I’ll never ever understand how that’s a f***ing penalty, he’s put his head down for the ball. What’s Luke Shaw supposed to to do? Not clear the ball?"
A third raged: "He plays the ball first – it’s as simple as that. Never a penalty in a million years."
With a fellow England fan adding: "Never a penalty for me. Controlled clearance with no contact or risk to the player."
Was it a penalty? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below
Don't miss a thing with our football updates!
Want to be on the ball with all of the latest football news?
Well then sign up for the brilliant Daily Star football email newsletter!
From the latest transfer news to the agenda-setting stories, get it all in your email inbox – don't miss a thing.
How do you sign up?
It only takes a matter of seconds.
Simply type your email address into the box at the top of this article and hit 'subscribe'.
And that's it, job done. You'll receive an email with all of the top news stories every single morning.
You can find out more information on our email newsletter on this link here.
Former England defender Matt Upson added: "Wow. That's a big decision from the referee!
"There are massive question marks over the penalty and whether Luke Shaw had the right to go for it. He catches him on the follow through but wins the ball and clears it.
"That's a brilliant, cool penalty though. He kept his head amid all that fuss about the award."
Source: Read Full Article